Skip to content
MedOffr
Buckingham · MB ChBJanuary 2028 startConfirmed as of 1 October 2026

Buckingham Medicine: fees and how it selects

Buckingham is the UK’s only private medical school. UK students pay £41,500 a year, about £186,750 for the four-and-a-half-year course, which starts in January. It does not use the UCAT: it screens on academics, then sets its own computer-based assessment and an MMI. The offer is ABB with Chemistry or Biology.

Offers, contextual offers and resits

A-level offer, 2027 entry

ABB

Chemistry or Biology

Contextual offer

Not stated

Buckingham's entry requirements do not give a lower contextual offer.

Resits

No policy published

Buckingham's course page sets no resit rule; it says only that qualifications older than five years are not considered. Ask admissions if you are resitting.

Compare every school’s resit policy

From Buckingham’s own admissions pages for 2027 entry, checked 1 October 2026. Where a box says not stated, the school’s pages do not mention it.

What it costs

From Buckingham's course page, for the January 2028 start. Fees may rise each year with RPI inflation.

Fee statusFirst yearWhole course
UK£41,500£186,750
International£47,000£211,500

A non-refundable £10,000 deposit secures a place and counts towards the first year; it is refunded if you miss the conditions of the offer. The tuition loan is capped at £6,525 a year whatever the fee.

How Buckingham selects

1. Academic screening

Judged on the written application, mainly academic achievement, which should be comparable to entrants elsewhere in the UK; the ability to pay is not meant to make up for weaker grades.

2. Multiple Mini Assessment

A computer-based test of analysis, interpretation and judgement, set against the GMC's Good Medical Practice. Exceptional applicants can get an offer here.

3. Multiple Mini Interview

Tasks testing personal attributes for practice as a doctor, again against Good Medical Practice.

Buckingham's rules, in full

A-levels
ABB: Chemistry or Biology. The UK's only private medical school. Qualifications older than five years are not considered, and BTECs are not accepted. Its course page says applications were paused from 20 May because of demand, so check they are open before you plan on it.
GCSEs
English and Maths at grade 4.
UCAT
Not used: Buckingham does not ask for the UCAT. It screens on academics and selects with its own computer-based assessment and an MMI.
SJT band
Not used, since the UCAT is not.
Personal statement
Not stated.
Interview
MMI, after a computer-based assessment. Academic screening, then a digital Multiple Mini Assessment, then the MMI; exceptional applicants can get an offer after the assessment.
Contextual applicants
No contextual scheme published.
Resits
No policy published. Buckingham's course page sets no resit rule; it says only that qualifications older than five years are not considered. Ask admissions if you are resitting.

Where this comes from

  • The University of Buckingham's MB ChB Medicine (4.5-year degree) course page: entry requirements, the three selection stages, fees, student finance and the deposit.

Compiled 1 October 2026. The figures are reproduced as tables and charts so nothing has to be downloaded. Check Buckingham’s current pages before you apply; they win if anything here differs.

Embed this school on your own site

For a medical society or school website: paste this where the card should appear. It shows Buckingham’s offer, UCAT line, interview and resit policy, kept up to date, with a link back to this page. It sets no cookies and collects nothing.

Spot something wrong on this page?Report it— confirmed errors are fixed within 48 hours and logged on the corrections page.

↑ ↓ to move, Enter to go/ or ⌘K opens this anywheres on a school’s page shortlists it