Skip to content
MedOffr
Edge Hill · A1002027 entryConfirmed as of 1 October 2026

Edge Hill Medicine: how it selects

Edge Hill takes Home applicants only. It checks you meet its academic minimums, ranks everyone who does on the UCAT total, and interviews down to a threshold set by how many interviews it holds that year. Offers then go on the MMI score alone. It has released no admissions statistics, so this page sets out its rules. Offer AAA with Biology and Chemistry, or A*AB with the A* in one of them.

Offers, contextual offers and resits

A-level offer, 2027 entry

AAA

Biology and Chemistry, both at A, plus one other subject; with an A* in Biology or Chemistry the third can be a B

Contextual offer

Not stated

Edge Hill's entry requirements do not give a lower contextual offer.

Edge Hill's widening participation criteria(opens in a new tab)

Resits

Accepts resits

Edge Hill accepts applications from those who have resat GCSEs or A-levels, with or without mitigation, but will not accept mitigating circumstances in place of the entry requirements. A-levels must have been obtained within the two years before you apply.

Compare every school’s resit policy

From Edge Hill’s own admissions pages for 2027 entry, checked 1 October 2026. Where a box says not stated, the school’s pages do not mention it.

How Edge Hill selects

From its admissions supplement for the MBChB, which it dates October 2023, and its 2027 course page.

1. Academic screening

Applications are checked against the minimum academic and eligibility criteria; those that miss go no further. Personal statements and references are not routinely used to choose who is interviewed.

2. The UCAT ranking

Everyone who meets the minimums is ranked on the UCAT total, and a threshold is set by the number of interviews. Band 4 in the SJT is rejected.

3. Multiple mini interviews

Each station is scored and the scores are added. The stations look at: motivation for edge hill's course, verbal communication, integrity and probity, teamwork and leadership, empathy and compassion, awareness of current health challenges, ethical awareness, awareness of self and others, prioritisation and decision making, interpreting data.

4. Offers

The highest MMI totals get offers. The statement and reference may separate applicants who tie at the threshold; no offer is made without an interview.

Edge Hill's rules, in full

A-levels
AAA: Biology and Chemistry, both at A, plus one other subject; with an A* in Biology or Chemistry the third can be a B. Home applicants only. A-levels must have been obtained within the two years before applying; General Studies, Critical Reasoning, Citizenship and Key Skills are not accepted. No deferred entry, and you must be 18 when the course starts.
GCSEs
Five GCSEs at 6 when you apply, including Biology, Chemistry, English Language and Maths; Double Science at 6-6 is accepted in place of Biology and Chemistry.
UCAT
No published line: applicants who meet the academic minimums are ranked on the UCAT total, and the threshold is set by how many interviews it holds, so it moves every year. SJT Band 4 is rejected automatically; widening participation applicants get a lower threshold.
SJT band
Band 4 is rejected automatically. Bands 1 to 3 are treated alike: the ranking is the UCAT total.
Personal statement
Tie-breaker only. Not routinely used to select for interview; with the reference it may separate applicants tied at the offer threshold after the MMI.
Interview
MMI. Offers go to the highest total MMI scores; no offer without an interview.
Contextual applicants
The UCAT threshold is lower for applicants who meet Edge Hill's widening participation criteria or have completed its Widening Access to Medicine Programme. Those who meet the criteria can also take the six-year course with a Foundation Year (A110).
Resits
Accepts resits. Edge Hill accepts applications from those who have resat GCSEs or A-levels, with or without mitigation, but will not accept mitigating circumstances in place of the entry requirements. A-levels must have been obtained within the two years before you apply.

Where this comes from

  • Edge Hill University's MBChB Medicine (A100) course page for September 2027 entry: entry criteria, example offers, GCSEs and the selection stages.
  • Edge Hill's Admissions and Selection Supplement for the MBChB (October 2023): international applicants, statements and references, the UCAT ranking, the MMI and resits.
  • The Medical Schools Council's course page for Edge Hill A100.

Compiled 1 October 2026. The figures are reproduced as tables and charts so nothing has to be downloaded. Check Edge Hill’s current pages before you apply; they win if anything here differs.

Embed this school on your own site

For a medical society or school website: paste this where the card should appear. It shows Edge Hill’s offer, UCAT line, interview and resit policy, kept up to date, with a link back to this page. It sets no cookies and collects nothing.

Spot something wrong on this page?Report it— confirmed errors are fixed within 48 hours and logged on the corrections page.

↑ ↓ to move, Enter to go/ or ⌘K opens this anywheres on a school’s page shortlists it